Nobel Prize Day
And this years prize goes to......

When: December 10th

Where: Worldwide

Traditional Celebration Ideas

Try to be the best version of yourself today.  Think about what areas of science or humanity that you can give back something to society and make the world a better place.  Take a moment to look back at all the past Nobel Prize winners and marvel at human accomplishment. 


So far there have been a total of 603 Nobel Prizes awarded since 1901.


The first Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature were first awarded in Sweden and the Nobel Peace Prize in present day Oslo, Norway. The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony first occurred in 1901 at the Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm, Sweden.  The Nobel Prize is awarded based on the greatest contributions to benefit humankind in the areas of Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace.  The prize is named after Swedish Alfred Nobel,an incredible man that had made a number of contributions to the world in areas of engineering and philanthropy and willed the prize to be awarded to people making similar or more significant impacts in the world we live in.  In addition to a gold medal, and a diploma the prize carries a monetary award of 10,000.000 SEK which is approximately $1,145,000 usd. The nobel prize is recognized and respected worldwide.

Interesting Facts

  1. Oldie but goodie…60 years old is the average age of all Nobel Laureates in all prize categories.
  2. Malala Yousafzai is the youngest Nobel Laureates to date, received the Peace Prize at 17 years old.
  3. 3 winners of the Nobel Peace Price were awarded while they were in Prison.
  4. In order to pay for medical expenses one winner sold his medal for $765,000.
  5. Alisher Usmanov briefly purchased the gold Nobel medal awarded to biologist James Watson for $4.7 million dollars, but later gave it back and requested the money paid be used for research.


  • December 10th
Next Dates: